top of page

Top 5: Actors Who Should Play James Bond

It's been a while but I have I returned, and soon enough, James Bond will be returning to the big screen when the 25th entry in the series, No Time to Die, hits theaters in 2020.


Directed by Cary Joji Fukunaga (True Detective, Maniac), No Time to Die will mark the fifth and final time Daniel Craig suits up to play 007 which means speculation has already begun around the big question: Who will be the next Bond?


I've compiled a list of five actors who I believe would be best-suited for the role. So, without further adieu, here's the list, and let me know what changes you'd make, if any.


Honorable Mention: Henry Cavill


Don't get me wrong, I'm a big Henry Cavill fan and I'm pumped to see him in Netflix's The Witcher, but I don't know if he possesses the acting chops to play Bond. Given his looks and natural charm, I'm sure Cavill would be the top choice for many people but one of Cavill's criticisms over the years has been his somewhat wooden acting. If we're picking the replacement to arguably the best Bond yet, we need someone who checks off all the boxes, even if Cavill may look the part.


5. Tom Hiddleston


Best known for playing Loki in the MCU, Tom Hiddleston is simply one of the best actors working today and now with Loki taking a step back in the MCU, his schedule may be opening up. Hiddleston is almost perfect for this role, but personally, I like a more gritty and darker Bond, and I'm not sure if Hiddleston would be the best choice for that take on the character. With that said, Hiddleston has great range as an actor so I wouldn't be surprised if he kills the role regardless of the approach to the character.


4. Tom Hardy


Tom number two! Best known for his performances as super-villains Bane and Venom, Tom Hardy is yet another world-class actor who could bring a lot to this role. As I said before, I prefer the more hardened and gritty version of James Bond, and for that, Hardy may be the best on this list. It's tough because I feel like all of these actors would be great in the role and bring their own unique flair, especially Hardy; however, he's already solidified himself in so many other iconic roles that I'd rather see someone less-known take up the mantle.


3. Idris Elba


Listen, I'm still on this train. It's been running for years and many people have gotten off since he publicly said he's not playing Bond, but I'm still all in. Idris Elba is easily one of the most underrated and under-appreciated actors out there today and he deserves to shine in this role. He's shown he's got the grit and grind from playing Stringer Bell in HBO's The Wire and he's shown he's got the smooth, methodical style from Luther. The only reason he's not higher on this list is due to his age. Elba is only four years younger than Daniel Craig, who is 51, so that means he would probably only have one, maybe two, turns in the role in him. Other than that, the guy's a beast and kills the suit game. Enough said.


2. Cillian Murphy


Thomas Shelby of the Peaky Fookin' Blinders! Cillian Murphy is one of those actors that you see in a ton of shit but you don't know his name. Whether it's playing Scarecrow in The Dark Knight Trilogy or the brutal and calculating mob boss Tom Shelby in Peaky Blinders, Murphy delivers his best in every performance I've seen him in, regardless of the size of the role. When rumors started surfacing that he had been casted as Bond, I was initially not with it but now that I've seen him take on a leading role in Netflix's Peaky Blinders, I think he'd be an excellent choice. Like Daniel Craig, Murphy has that look to him where you could buy him as a killer assassin but also as a suave, womanizing spy; and that right there is the epitome of the James Bond character.


1. Richard Madden


The King in the North! Best known for playing Robb Stark in Game of Thrones and set to star in Marvel Studios' The Eternals next year, Richard Madden is on the brink of absolute stardom. He took home the Golden Globe for Best Actor in a Drama Series for Bodyguard which for many served as the perfect audition for James Bond. He's got the looks, he's got the charm, he's got the edge. Just imagine Robb Stark uttering the words: "The name's bond. James Bond." Case closed.










16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page