top of page

My 50 Favorite Movies Ever

It has been a long time since by last post, but I decided that it's time to get things cooking again seeing that there isn't much else to do in the winter. Over Christmas break Hannon, Jered, and I constructed an incredible list of 100 must watch movies for our good friend John Cullen Ploszay. I must say this was an elite list created by movie experts. The list was tough to crack and we all agreed that anyone could watch the films we picked and be satisfied with their viewing experience. Since then I've been thinking of my own favorite movies of all time, which brings us to this list. By no means do I think these films are critically the greatest of all time (even though a lot are). However, these are my personal 50 favorite movies of all time ranked, with my ratings of each. Obviously this list is subject to change because I haven't seen every movie and my opinions are always shifting. The list was very hard to crack and tons of great movies just missed, but here it is...


50. Avengers: End Game (2019)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 94%

My Score: 86%



49. Mission: Impossible - Fallout (2018)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

My Score: 86%


48. The Town (2010)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 93%

My Score: 86%


47. Forrest Gump (1994)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 72%

My Score: 86%


46. The Godfather (1972)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 98%

My Score: 87%


45. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 88%

My Score: 87%


44. Man of Steel (2013)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 56%

My Score: 87%


43. Inception (2010)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 87%

My Score: 87%


42. Once Upon A Time in Hollywood (2019)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 85%

My Score: 87%


41. Black Panther (2018)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

My Score: 87%


40. Rocky (1976)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 94%

My Score: 88%


39. Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 93%

My Score: 88%


38. The Bourne Ultimatum (2007)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 92%

My Score: 88%



37. Captain America: Civil War (2016)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

My Score: 88%



36. The Hangover (2009)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 78%

My Score: 88%


35. Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 93%

My Score: 89%


34. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 92%

My Score: 89%


33. Thor: Ragnorak (2017)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 93%

My Score: 89%



32. Happy Gilmore (1996)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 61%

My Score: 89%


31. Remember the Titans (2000)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 73%

My Score: 89%


30. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 95%

My Score: 90%


29. Star Wars: Attack of the Clones (2002)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 65%

My Score: 90%


28. Fight Club (1999)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 79%

My Score: 91%


27. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

My Score: 91%


26. The Departed (2006)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 88%

My Score: 92%


25. Good Will Hunting (1997)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

My Score: 92%


24. Old School (2003)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 60%

My Score: 92%


23. Superbad (2007)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 88%

My Score: 92%


22. Indiana Jones and The Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 95%

My Score: 93%


21. Dazed and Confused (1993)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

My Score: 93%


20. Inglorious Bastards (2009)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 89%

My Score: 93%


19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 90%

My Score: 94%


18. The Dark Knight Rises (2012)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 87%

My Score: 94%


17. Goodfellas (1990)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 96%

My Score: 94%


16. Wedding Crashers (2005)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 75%

My Score: 94%


15. Iron Man (2008)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 94%

My Score: 94%


14. The Other Guys (2010)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 78%

My Score: 95%


13. Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (1983)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 82%

My Score: 95%


12. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 79%

My Score: 95%


11. Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan (2006)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

My Score: 96%


10. Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 91%

My Score: 96%


The start to the Lord of the Rings trilogy is amazing in so many ways. Being introduced to this world created by Tolkien is one of the things I love most about this movie. All the different locations, characters, and magical elements make it unique. The best part of this movie is of course the nine characters that make up the fellowship. Over the second part of this movie their journey is what makes this movie and what makes you love these characters. The cherry on top of the sundae here is the great score and cinematography shot in New Zealand. A great start to a great trilogy.


9. The Dark Knight (2008)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 94%

My Score: 97%


Highly regarded as the greatest super hero movie ever, this film is a cut above the rest. The movie in engaging throughout with the battle between Batman and the Joker. The acting is top notch with great performances from Christian Bale, Gary Oldman, Michael Caine, and several others. But, the performance from Heath Ledger is the obvious standout. Shortly before his death he gave a hall of fame performance playing one of the most iconic villains ever. Christopher Nolan did an amazing job as always and I do believe this is the best movie he has ever made and probably ever will make. Many people include this on their lists for being one of the greatest ten movies of all time and I must say I don't disagree.


8. A Bronx Tale (1993)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 97%

My Score: 97%


My favorite mob movie of all time. This movie does not get the credit it deserves when people talk about great mob movies. People always talk about Goodfellas or The Godfather, which are both all time great movies. But, Bronx Tale never gets brought up which is a shame. It's a simple story of a young kid in New York having to decide between an honest mans way of life or a mob life. So many iconic moments and an emotional ending help create my favorite mob movie ever.


7. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 85%

My Score: 98%


This movie was fucking awesome to see in theaters. It opens with a bang, which is followed by several bangs, and ends with a bang. Rarely, do blockbuster films that are hyped up so much deliver, let alone exceed expectations, but this one did. It was so cool to see all of our favorite heroes team up and interact with each other. The best character in this movie though had to be the Mad Titan Thanos. I probably quote him about three times a day and that's because of this movie. He's awesome and it was great to see because usually Marvel villains fall a bit short. This movie was exciting throughout and was capped off by an epic battle in Wakanda and the legendary snap. It is firmly seated as my favorite superhero movie and in theater experience of all time.


6. Rocky II (1979)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 71%

My Score: 98%


My favorite movie of the Rocky franchise by far. This movie avoids getting cheesy like they do in the following films, but adds cool parts that the first movie didn't have. For example, the training montage was awesome. When Adrien tells Rocky to "win" in the hospital room and the music hits I get hyped every time. We also get to see Rocky get the W in this one which was nice. It gets me hyped watching every time and makes me happy to be Italian.


5. Ferris Bueller's Day Off (1986)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 80%

My Score: 99%


I love 80s movies and this is definitely one of the best ones. It's a feel good movie that anyone can sit back and enjoy. The adventure that Ferris, Cameron, and Sloane go on is a lot to fun to watch and even the little sub plots are great. The whole little side story with principle Rooney is one of the best parts of the movie. It's filled with iconic scenes, memorable quotes, and a great soundtrack. It is one of the best 80s movies and has proved it by remaining relevant 34 years after its release.



4. Back to the Future (1985)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 96%

My Score: 99%


Now this is a movie. Other than the Star Wars movies this is my favorite movie of all time. There is nothing bad about this movie, everything is great. Anyone who doesn't like this movie shouldn't be trusted. Not only does it take you on an epic adventure with Marty McFly, but it takes you back to the 1950s and everything about that time period. There are so many great things about this movie, but what makes it is the relationship between the Doc and Marty. It's a perfect pairing and both actors have amazing chemistry.


3. Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 93%

My Score: 99%


The film that started it all. This movie is one of the first blockbusters to tell the hero's journey. A farm born from a nothing planet goes on an adventure against evil and conquers the challenge despite all odds. This movie is pretty much perfect and set the stage for the biggest movie franchise ever. The acting, story, music, scenery, and effects all coming together to produce a flawless product. I could talk about this movie forever, but I'll just say that no one should ever get mad at George Lucas because he gave us this masterpiece.


2. Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith (2005)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 80%

My Score: 99%


I don't care what anyone says I love the prequels and this is easily the best one. It starts off hot right off the bat with the fight over Coruscant and doesn't slow down from there. There are so many great battles and duels that make this movie so great. The best part though is the tragic story of Anakin Skywalker and seeing him turn to the dark side. Obviously everyone knew he would turn, but just seeing it happen still hurt. From betraying Mace Windu to killing younglings it was sad to see, but it makes the movie great. This masterpiece is capped off with the emotional duel of Obi-Won and Anakin, which is my favorite part of the movie. It has the most action of any Star Wars movie and is the most epic, making it my second favorite of all time.


1. Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)


Rotten Tomatoes Score: 94%

My Score: 99%


Perfection. It isn't often that a sequel exceeds the original or is even any good, but in this case The Empire Strikes Back does both. Every single aspect of this movie is great, not good, great. Luke with Yoda, Han and Leia, the Hoth battle, introducing Lando, and of course the big twist at the end. This movie incapsulates everything that makes the Star Wars franchise amazing. It is firmly seated as my favorite movie of all time.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page