top of page

Recasting the DCEU with MCU Actors

I was laying in my bed at six in the morning and I couldn't go back sleep so I did what every person does when this happens, I recasted the DC Universe with Marvel actors. I have too much time on my hands... but this list is great.


Heroes


Batman: Robert Downey Jr


He may not have the physique but RDJ has proven he can play a billionaire/superhero and I'd love to see his take on the playboy side of Bruce Wayne.


Superman: Michael B. Jordan


I know, I know. Crazy, right? How can I cast an actor that is barley six feet tall? All jokes a side, I really couldn't think of anyone else who could do service to the role while not looking ridiculous in the suit. I gave Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans a chance but they fit way better with other characters (plus my Jor-El pick is money).


Wonder Woman: Brie Larson


I have no other choice.


Aquaman: Chris Hemsworth


This is probably my best pick so far. Despite Jason Momoa's awesome portrayal of the character, Aquaman wasn't always a long-haired, beer-chugging, crazy man. He was a blond white dude and Chris Hemsworth is the best blonde white dude for the job. Also, it's a smart a marketing strategy because all the ladies will pay just to see Hemsworth shirtless in the water.


The Flash (Barry Allen): Chris Evans


Just imagine Chris Evans' voice saying Barry Allen... It just sounds right. Once again, if you're going off Ezra Miller's portrayal of the Flash this doesn't make sense; however, in the comics Barry Allen is actually a little older in most incarnations and is a genius. Plus, we've seen Evans play a similar hothead as Johnny Storm in the Fantastic Four movies.


Green Arrow: Jeremy Renner


I have a feeling Jeremy Renner is going to be cast as that useless guy with an out-dated weapon for the rest of his career.


Green Lantern (Hal Jordan): Sebastian Stan


Low-key fantastic pick here. Enough said.


Green Lantern (John Stewart): Chadwick Boseman


Wait, the guy from the Daily Show? No, the black Green Lantern. Given the fact Chadwick Boseman has been butter in every role I've seen him in, I think he could pull this off.


Shazam: Chris Pratt


This is genuinely the only role I could see Pratt's comedic chops fitting with.


Cyborg: Anthony Mackie


You could go a few ways here but I went this way; Mackie plays a good fifth wheel.


Robin/Nightwing: Tom Holland


Tommy boy could also make a good Flash but c'mon, the Robin to RDJ's Batman? It's only right.


Supergirl: Tessa Thompson


A little Creed reunion here with Michael B but not sexual in this one seeing that Supergirl is Superman's cousin.


Black Canary: Scarlet Johansson


If you're not familiar with the character, I'll I can tell you is she has powers involving making noises I think and she's Green Arrow's love interest. I could see it Renner and Johansson getting along well.


Martian Manhunter: Paul Bettany


He's got the smooth voice and is not foreign to playing a different colored person with a cape.


Atom: Paul Rudd


It's literally Ant-Man.


Doctor Fate: Benedict Cumberbatch


Keeping it in the family here. I guess P.H.D's are useful in the superhero world too.



Villains


Darkseid: Josh Brolin


He's basically Thanos with red eyes.


Lex Luthor: James Spader


This needs no further explanation. I can't believe this hasn't happened yet.


The Joker: Tom Hiddleston


Who else? He's got the creepy smile and lanky physique.


Harley Quinn: Elizabeth Olsen


Not my strongest pick. She's the actress this role needs but not the one it deserves right now.


General Zod: Hugo Weaving


This guy is great; always delivers. Solid successor to Michael Shannon.


Harvey Dent: Bradley Cooper


Once again, an exquisite pick here. I smell an Oscar with this one.


The Riddler: Mark Ruffalo


Not sure about this one; it could either be really good or really bad. Honestly, I had the hardest time finding a spot for Marky Mark.


Posion Ivey: Cate Blanchett


Sometimes, I amaze even myself.


The Penguin: Andy Serkis


Now this... this would be something to behold and I'm all in. He could probably pull off the Joker too.


Mr. Freeze - Vin Diesel


This is a high risk, high reward pick right here but I'd gamble on it. Plus, he's bald.


Deathstroke: Frank Grillo


Dude is in like five minutes of Captain America: Civil War but he knows how to handle guns and armor. Now, just throw him an eyepatch and some swords.


Bane: Dave Bautista


He already knows the wrestling garb. Just throw him into the ring.


Catwoman: Evangeline Lilly


This is a pick you have to think about for a moment before you realize its genius.


Ra's al Ghul: Mads Mikkelson


Yep.


Hugo Strange: Ben Kingsley


If you know the character, you know this is good stuff right here.


Man-Bat: Michael Keaton


Yes, there is a character named Man-Bat and yes, he's exactly what you think he is.


Side Characters


Alfred Pennyworth: Anthony Hopkins


This a chance for the legendary actor to take a more reserved role while still spitting knowledge and ambiguous philosophy.


Jim Gordan: Don Cheadle


If someone asked me who is the War Machine to Robert Downey Jr's Batman, it would have to be the commissioner.


Jor-El: Idris Elba


Idris Elba as Jor-El is what convinced me to go with Michael B Jordan as “Supes.” Just imagine Idris Elba’s voice echoing through the Fortress of Solitude.


Lois Lane: Hayley Atwell


It's picks like these that get forgotten, yet are the reason why I believe this list is near perfect.


Mera: Natalie Portman


Hopefully, she does a better job as Chris Hemsworth's love interest than she did in the Thor movies.


Batgirl (Barbara Gordon): Letitia Wright


I know I keep addressing the quality of these choices but when it's working, it's working.


Batwoman: Gwyneth Paltrow


Honestly, I don't know too much about this character but I had to slide Gwyneth Paltrow in here. It seems fitting for Pepper Potts to be the Batwoman to Tony Stark's Batman.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page