top of page

Hypocrisy

Let me begin this article by stating that I am not a fan of the Oscars or award shows in general. I find the hosts to often be unfunny with awkward jokes, the show itself to be long and drawn out, and many of the nominees to be unknown. I consider myself a big fan of television and movies, but in the few times that I have watched the Oscars I have not heard of half of the movies nominated. For this reason I usually tune in for a brief part of the show and then become bored and watch something else, this is until recently as it has become political and insufferable to watch. Now I don't watch any part of the Oscars and really have no interest in anything to do with it. Okay, so now that I got that out of the way let me talk about what I really wanted to address, the hypocrisy of the Oscars. I was at the gym stretching when I received a text from a friend about the Oscar nominees this year for best picture. He informed me that one of the nominees happened to be Black Panther. Initially I did not believe it because the Academy is well known for not nominating "super hero" movies because the people who do this are pretentious snobs. So I then googled it and found that he was not joking and Black Panther is among the six nominees for best picture. Nominating this super hero movie for an Oscar is so hypocritical of the Academy it's not even funny. If The Dark Knight isn't nominated for an Oscar just because the jerks who vote on this crap are too high and mighty to nominate a Batman movie than no super hero movie should be nominated. The Dark Knight is nationally recognized for not only being the best super hero movie of all time, but for being one of the best movies of all time in general. Without being a fan of Batman or super heroes someone could watch The Dark Knight and appreciate it for being a complete masterpiece. So for the Academy to leave out The Dark Knight just because it's Batman and then nominate Black Panther is extremely hypocritical. I'll also say that I have no problem with Black Panther. I think it is a really good movie and one of the best of 2018. It's just a shame that the great super hero movies of the past that hold up as movies on their own like The Dark Knight and Logan did not get the recognition that they deserve. I'll try to end the article with a glimmer of hope and that hopefully this will change things going forward. Now that Black Panther has been nominated for best picture we can only hope the Academy will take movies for what they are regardless of genre and be fair when nominating films. Lastly, Vice being nominated is a joke that movie blew.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page