top of page

Casting the Benioff & Weiss Star Wars Trilogy

As we near the the final season of Game of Thrones, I have to prepare myself to fill the void that will be left when the show is over. Even though we know the spinoff series The Long Night is coming, it won't be for a while. Nevertheless, there is hope as GOT show-runners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss have a new project on their hands–Star Wars–and if the rumors are true, this trilogy of films will be set in the Old Republic hundreds or thousands of years before the Skywalker Saga. With this in mind, it's hard to ignore the possible influence of the 2003 video game Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic on this new trilogy. Although many believe that D & D will be constructing a completely original story, I still believe there is a strong possibility we could see the classic video game adapted to the big screen. After all, they have a pretty good history of adapting beloved source material. So, I present to you my fan-casting of the main characters of "KOTOR," assuming that's what will be adapted.


Darth Revan: Christian Bale



I'm starting this off with a banger. Christian Bale, the best actor working today, playing a Jedi Knight turned powerful Sith Lord? Count me in. This casting alone would have me pumped for this thing as I feel like Bale is the only option. He'd bring the perfect gravitas for this darker and more mature Star Wars story.


Darth Malak: Michael Fassbender



Fassbender and Bale in a lightsaber duel accompanied by some epic dialogue and music. Need I say more? Fassbender plays a bad guy like no other and I can't think of anyone more suited to go up against Christian Bale.


Bastila Shan: Eva Green



I feel like I've seen Eva Green in a ton of movies I don't remember but that's not a knock on her. With Bastila Shan, we'd have our first badass female Jedi (we'll see about Rey) and Green brings the sort of edginess this character needs.


Carth Onasi: Chris Pratt



If I had to sum up Carth as a character, he's a mix between Han Solo and Star Lord, and Star Lord by design is like Han Solo. As you can see, all paths lead to Chris Pratt here. Even though I think this is great casting looks and personality wise, I'm not sure I'd be able to shake off the Star Lord persona seeing how similar these performances could be, but if it happens, I'm behind it.


Kreia: Michelle Fairly



Ah yes, our first Game of Thrones actor crossover. The funny thing is, this casting is both realistic due to her relationship with D & D, and fitting as Fairly would essentially have a chance to finally play Lady Stoneheart just in the Star Wars universe.


Meetra Surick: Maise Williams



Two Thrones people in a row! Surick is a sort of rebellious young Jedi in the video game and is anxious for some battle. It just makes sense.


Jolee Bindo: Danny Glover



Honestly, don't know too much about this character other than he's a Jedi who looks like Danny Glover. Case and point.


HK-47 (voice): Taika Waititi



Wise-cracking, murderous droid? HK-47 needs Taika Watiti's craziness and his experience in voice-acting as well as Star Wars with The Mandalorian. This makes him a very plausible option.


In addition, I hope they'll find some way to slide my boy Kit Harington in there as well as Ramin Djawadi, the composer of Game of Thrones; Djawadi is a worthy musician to take John Williams' place.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page