top of page

Big Daddy Ice

The Long Night wasn't so long after all. The third episode in this season, "The Long Night" was perhaps the most anticipated episode of the entire series. The white walkers were here and fans were expecting a ruthless battle that would leave many of their favorite characters dead. The result was a very controversial episode that has the fanbase divided. Some felt it was a great battle that was capped off by an epic moment at the end. Others have complained that the episode was shot too dark to see, not enough characters died, and overall the episode was underwhelming. I agree that it wasn't the best battle of the series and there were flaws, but I am here to defend this episode and also pay tribute to the Night King. I think part of the issue is that everyone expects the world every episode and when that is the expectation nothing will ever live up to the hype. The big nitpick of the lighting being too dark is one I agree with. What good is a cool fight and episode if you can't see it? Obviously it is realistic for the characters, but that doesn't mean it should be the same for audiences. The complaint about not enough characters dying is one I disagree with though. Edd, Lady Mormont, Beric, Theon, Jorah, and Melisandre all died. Would you really have Jon, Dany, or Jaime die at the hands of the dead or in a political betrayal? If you go back and look at the history of the show the characters almost never die in the big battles. The two most significant character deaths in battles have been Ygritte and then Ramsey later on. The big deaths in the show have always been political betrayals that shock the audience like Ned, Robb, and Jon. It makes for a more clever and memorable death in my opinion. So I do not have any complaints about the amount of deaths, Jorah and Theon even both died who have been there since day 1. As for the episode itself I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. I was genuinely scared for what was going to happen next and all the Arya stuff was awesome. Some people are mad that the Night King died at the end, but if he won what're the last three episodes going to be? As cool and mysterious as the white walkers are the backbone of the show has always been the politics. Personally, I love that now the focus will be against Cersei and the fight for the throne is back on. When Arya killed the Night King I put my heads on my head and watched the rest of the episode standing up. I think it was an epic moment that will be remembered and a great move by Arya. With all that being said, I'd like to address Big Daddy Ice, The Night King. What a great character. The dude does not speak and he is one of the most famous villains in television history. In all of his scenes he captures the show and looks like an absolute badass. He got a little cocky at the end, but his cockiness made him great. I do wish we got a 1v1 between Jon and the Night King that would've been great. Either way I will look back fondly at the Night King and what his character brought to the show.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page