top of page

The Real Deal

It appears that after many long years the Cleveland Browns have found their starting quarterback of the future. Through Week 12 of the NFL season the Browns have 4 wins, which is more than their last two seasons combined. This is because of one man, Baker Mayfield. For the longest time I was unsure of my feelings about the rockstar quarterback. I loved his passion for the game and he was exciting to watch in college. But, he played in the Big 12 where defense is optional and we had just seen Johnny Manziel fail, who was also undersized and seemed similar to Baker personality wise. I couldn't tell if Baker was going to be the short, Heisman winner that couldn't translate or last in the NFL like Johnny Football and RG3 or if he was different. After watching Hard Knocks, a number of interviews, and seeing him play for several weeks my mind is made up. I am 100% in on the Baker Mayfield bandwagon, this kid is awesome. I think he's great for the sport, fun to watch, and he can actually help the Browns win football games. I think more than anything he's an exciting presence. He's the type of guy you turn on the TV to watch play. What made me so weary to jump on the bandwagon sooner was many of his antics in college. His most notable moments being grabbing his nuts at Kansas (after they didn't shake his hand) and putting the OU flag in the middle of Ohio State's field. I look back at these moments and realize that he's not immature, he is just ultra competitive and loves to win. That is someone guys love to play with and is great to root for. He's young, he's a gamer, and he may actually turn around the Cleveland Browns. Baker Mayfield has gone from walk on, to Heisman winner, to number 1 pick, and it looks like he's the real deal.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page